District Election Procedures and Deadlines

Historically, Board members have been elected on an at-large basis, with all voters within the District voting for each Board member. During a series of public hearings held between April and June 2019, the District established five electoral Divisions in order to transition to a Division-based election in which each Board member is elected by a specific Division within the District. Prospective Board Members must be registered voters and reside within the boundaries of the Division that they will represent. All five board members will continue to participate and vote on district wide matters regardless of what division they represent.

Draft NSD Electoral Zones Map
Click image for interactive map

District elections are held in conjunction with the Statewide General Elections in November of even-numbered years. Each Board member is elected to a four-year term with terms for Board members representing Divisions 2, 3 and 4 in November 2020 and every four years there after and election for Board members representing Divisions 1 and 5, in November 2022, and every four years there after.

The County Elections Office is the Election Officer for the District and conducts the election. Nomination papers may be obtained from and election questions directed to:

Marin County Elections Department
3501 Civic Center Drive, Suite 121
San Rafael, CA 94903

(415) 473-6437

Additional Documents and Resources